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	<title>Marketing Secrets by Socrates Socratous &#187; Google Adwords</title>
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	<link>http://SocratesBlog.com</link>
	<description>Building Successful Internet Businesses!</description>
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		<title>How do you know how much to bid per click on PPC?</title>
		<link>http://SocratesBlog.com/183/how-do-you-know-how-much-to-bid-per-click-on-ppc/</link>
		<comments>http://SocratesBlog.com/183/how-do-you-know-how-much-to-bid-per-click-on-ppc/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Sun, 01 Feb 2009 00:29:33 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Socrates Socratous</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Google Adwords]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Internet Marketing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[calculate CPC]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[pay per click]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[ppc]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://SocratesBlog.com/?p=183</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[I get this question frequently so I decided to write a blog post to explain how I calculate how much to bid on keywords on my Pay Per Click campaigns.
Let&#8217;s assume that you want to sell a product for $50.
We will also assume that since you are just starting a pay per click campaign, you [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>I get this question frequently so I decided to write a blog post to explain how I calculate how much to bid on keywords on my Pay Per Click campaigns.</p>
<p>Let&#8217;s assume that you want to sell a product for $50.<br />
We will also assume that since you are just starting a pay per click campaign, you have no conversion rate data so we will use 1% clicks to sale conversion as an average. In other words we assume you will make 1 sale for every 100 clicks.</p>
<p>Here is the calculation: <strong>(SP-Pr) * CR</strong></p>
<p>In this example,<br />
CR (conversion Rate) = 0.01<br />
SP (product price) = $50.00<br />
Pr (profit you want to make) = $0.00 (to break even)</p>
<p>(SP-Pr) * CR =&gt; (50-0) * 0.01 =&gt; 50*0.01 = <strong>$0.50</strong></p>
<p><em><br />
</em> 50 cents is the maximum you can afford to pay for each click in this situation<em><br />
(note: the calculation in parentheses is done first)</em></p>
<p>Say you want to make $20 profit per sale with the above product.<br />
The new equation becomes:</p>
<p>(SP-Pr) * CR =&gt; (50-<strong>20</strong> ) * 0.01 =&gt; 30*0.01 = <strong>$0.30</strong></p>
<p>This formula only accounts for one product. You should have more than just one product in your funnel. i usually aim to just break even or make a small profit on the first product sale and the upsells/future sales are pure profit.</p>
<p>If you are an affiliate where you only promote one product this calculation can be very powerful. Instead of the product price, make SP = your commission amount. (I generally dont promote affiliate products with less than $20 in NET commission)</p>
<p>Lets see some examples of this equation: <strong>(SP-Pr) * CR</strong></p>
<p>If you sell a product for $27 and you convert at 2%. you want to make $10 profit per sale.<br />
so,<br />
CR = 0.02<br />
SP = $27<br />
Pr = $10<br />
(SP-Pr) * CR =&gt; (27-10) *0.02 =&gt; (17) * 0.02 = <strong>$0.34 Max CPC</strong></p>
<p>If you sell a $4 product and you want to make $2 profit per sale, and your conversion is 3%<br />
CR = 0.03<br />
SP = 4<br />
Pr = 2</p>
<p>(SP-Pr) * CR =&gt; (4-2) *0.03 =&gt; (2) * 0.03 = <strong>$0.06 Max CPC</strong></p>
<p>In other more complex situations, when you have monthly continuity programs, back end sales, etc  where the formula can become more complicated, here is what you do to easily calculate CPC.</p>
<p>First figure out how much you are willing to pay for each sale, then multiply it by the CR.</p>
<p>For example, if you are willing to pay up to $15 to generate a sale (lead), then do the following to find your Max CPC: (we assume 1% CR in this example)</p>
<p>$15 * 0.01 = $0.15 Max CPC</p>
<p>I hope this post helps you figure out your max CPC easier. Another factor when evaluating the viability of a product to be promoted on PPC is the competition. If you are trying to bid on real estate keywords that generally go for over $1 per click, but you can only afford to pay $0.20, then you should re-evaluate your product and strategy. (hint: Your competitors can teach you a lot. Check what your competition is doing and do the same)</p>
<p>Post your comments or questions below</p>
<p>Partner to Your Success,<br />
-Socrates</p>
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